A cable tv interview

By gregebersole

November 2, 2010

Category: Travel

1 Comment »

Yesterday was a holiday in Colombia. I didn’t have school and my gym was closed. In the afternoon, I was at the Parque de las Banderas and saw a group from a local cable television group filming and interviewing. In this photo, they were filming the reporter dressed as a cowboy on a toy horse. On Sundays, there are several of these horses set up and a man will take your photo on it. He even provides the outfits to wear. The photos are printed nearby and you have a great photo of yourself as a cowboy on a fake horse. Wonderful! So they were interviewing the man who photographs the people and then filming him as he took photos of the reporter on the horse.

My life is getting busy here again. With gym, Spanish classes and salsa lessons, I’m staying very busy. I’m sure glad I don’t work full time. Today, I had another salsa lesson and left with my shirt and sweatpants completely soaked. I went straight to a panaderia where I met a man to work with him on his English. Tomorrow, I will start giving him lessons.

Lately, I have made a lot of new friends from the couchsurfing group. I met quite a few at the Halloween party. Many are new friends on Facebook now. I find myself writing and chatting almost more in Spanish on Facebook than in English. I’ve also made some new friends at my gym. I was talking to one woman today and learned she is studying English and French at the university where I attend. She has back to back classes of three hours each in each language. Were going to meet Friday afternoon to practice my Spanish and her English. I enjoy my life here in Cali. Once in awhile, I wonder what the heck I’m doing, living here for so long. But, most of the time, I really like what I’m doing. Sometimes, I wonder what it would be like to change and live in Bali or Puerto Vallarta, Mexico for a year. Would I adapt as quickly as I have here? Would I make friends as quickly there? Who knows? But for now, I’m happy to be a Caleño.

One Response to “A cable tv interview”

  1. Your adventurous spirit is a lovely sight as are your amazing photographs. Just goes to show how big the world is and how wide the heart!

Leave a Reply

