Cops can dance

By gregebersole

December 30, 2010

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

The other afternoon, there were salsa performances at the outdoor theatre, Los Cristales. This group of cops did a well choreographed routine. They were so well received with cheers, that they did an encore. People yelled out for more. They were good.

I have been so busy night and day with salsa festival activities that I haven’t had a chance to post much. I hope to tomorrow when things wind down. Last night I went to the Ruben Blades concert with a friend. There were a lot of Vallenato groups too. Also the salsa groups, Grupo Niche and El Gran Combo, played. The concert was really good and fun. I love it when the Colombians sing the words to all the songs with such emotion and passion. I wish I knew them that well. My friend and I took a bus from Cali to near the stadium near the town of Palmira for 2,500 pesos I think. Then we walked a little along the highway. Then there were motorcycles to take us down the dirt road to the stadium. It was dusty and quite a ways to walk, so two behind the driver on a moto was the best option. We left the concert at about 1:30 a.m. Luckily, Blades came on at 11 pm. I was afraid he would be on last at 4 a.m. or so. When we got out, there were no buses running of course. Our only option was a taxi back to Cali. They were charging what they could get. My friend asked several and they all quoted her 60,000 pesos ($30 or more). She finally found one in which the driver quoted us 40,000. He was just entering the area and probably hadn’t talked to anyone about what they were asking. He drove very fast and we were back in Cali in no time.

Leave a Reply

