New Year’s Day nap

By gregebersole

January 1, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

I had a nice start to the new year this morning. I walked out of my room, locked the door and headed to the front door of my house to leave for coffee at the panaderia. The front door was locked, as usual, so I reached into my pocket for my keys and they weren’t there. I’d left them in another pair of pants in my room. I was locked in the house and out of my room. I waited in the living room until I heard my landlady moving around upstairs and then got the duplicate key from her to get back into my room.

This afternoon, I headed for Parque San Antonio to relax and reflect on the past year and think about the new. As I passed through Parque artesanal “Loma de la Cruz” I got a photo of his man sleeping.

I’ve lived in Cali a little over a year now. I plan to be here another 5 months. Then my visa ends and I must leave and renew it. I may travel a little in June before heading to the states. My plans are unsure now. I like living here, but I may need to work more in order to stay. This past year has been a great experience, living in another country. I’ve had highs and lows. I’ve made a lot of good friends. I’ve had some come and go, but most are still good friends. My Spanish has really improved and, so has my salsa dancing. I have learned a lot about Colombians and Colombian life. I have experienced some of the drama that goes on. Sometimes, life here can be similar to the telenovelas on tv. I have also made a lot of good friends with the Cali Couchsurfer’s group. They are very active and are a good group of people to hang with. I’m very comfortable living here. We’ll see if I can figure things out by May and decide about coming back for more time. If I could get a photography job here, I’d be back in a heartbeat.

Leave a Reply

