Beautiful Colombia!

By gregebersole

January 8, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

On Wednesday, I joined a group of Couchsurfers from Pasto, Cali and abroad to hike to Volcán Azufral and Green Lake. We were to meet at 8 a.m. at the bus terminal. The Pasto group had organized the trip and would have a bus to take us. I was one of the first ones to arrive at the terminal. Silly me! This is Colombia. People started coming soon after 8:15. Our group was finally on the bus a little before 9:30 a.m. and while heading out we picked up the last person to arrive. We rode for about 2 hours to the town of Túquerres. There we bought some food and tried to escape being sprayed with carioca. After a half hour, we boarded two small buses to take us to the trail. This photo was taken in the area. I have seen some amazing scenery in Colombia and the area around Pasto is spectacular. I hope to return someday. When our buses got to the end of the rough dirt road, the trail to the volcano started. Altogether, we had a group of about 20 to 30 hikers.

I will post more tomorrow about the hike, or the ordeal as it could be called. I’m feeling a lot better today. My cold is about gone. I might need to go hear some salsa music tonight. I’ve missed it. Coming back to Cali felt like coming home. I really like it here. But, I’ve probably said that before.

Leave a Reply

