Ready for the night

By gregebersole

January 21, 2011

Category: Travel

1 Comment »

Last night, I was heading for Tin Tin Deo, my salsa spot, for a birthday party for Natalia Restrepo. As I was heading up the steps to cross over Calle 5, I spotted one of my homeless friends, Cifreo, and his four dogs getting ready to bed down for the night. I stopped to chat a bit and took a photo. The last time I saw him he had three dogs. He picked up another one somewhere. He said it’s more of a watchdog than the others.

At Tin Tin Deo, the Cali Couchsurfers had reserved one side of the club for the birthday party. Decorations were up and people started coming. By 10:30 p.m., the room was getting full. There was a lot of visiting and dancing. By 11, the entire side was full of people and dancers. By now, I know quite a few people, but only a fraction of the crowd that was there. I made some new friends, visited a lot and danced some. It was fun. All of a sudden the lights came on brightly. It was 1 a.m., the hour the club closes on Thursdays.

Earlier, in the afternoon, I had a two hour salsa lesson. We worked a lot with my styling and little details. When I step forward, my left foot should be at a 30 degree angle, and when I step back, my right foot should be at a 45 degree angle. Little things like that improve your style or looks of the dance floor. Also the way you hold your hands and arms. There is always so much to learn. I’m realizing now that I’ll never be a great dancer, but if I can at least look good and do a passable job on the floor, I’ll be happy. Right now, my dancing is a mixture of LA style (en linea) and Cali style. I’m always amazed at how good some of the dancers are at the club. Everything seems so natural for them. If I’d only started learning when I was a kid, like the kids in Cali do now!

One Response to “Ready for the night”

  1. 27 I

    Greg,

    Good use of b-w. Not an ounce of fat on any of them. Good angle, the corner, the tiles squares, just not sure if the aethetics work in his looking up. That’s maybe one for the viewer to decide. Down, but not out.

    h

Leave a Reply

