A conversation

By gregebersole

February 16, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

While at Loma de la Cruz, an area nearby where there are many artisan shops, I spotted this couple inside an open door having a close conversation. I think it was friendly, but I notice he’s holding her arm down, so then again, I’m not really sure. It’s an area with markets and small restaurants. People come in the afternoons and evenings to enjoy the view of Cali and the breezes and to visit.

This morning, my alarm woke me up at 5 a.m. I was going to go to the gym to work out at 5:30 a.m. since I had a 9 a.m. class today. It had rained some during the night and it was still dark. I quickly talked myself out of it, set the alarm for 7 a.m. and went back to sleep. When I woke up at 7, I was in the middle of a long, strange dream. I was driving in Cali and was lost. I kept asking people for directions and it seemed to take them forever to answer me, and I never got a straight answer. I woke up before I got where I wanted to go. I woke up feeling strange and frustrated. Weird.

Conversation class was good and fun. Victor always comes up with interesting things to do. Today, we each had to draw a map of our country and to talk about it. We also were given a sheet with the words to a song with some blank spaces. We then listened to the song and had to fill in the missing words in the spaces. It was a ballad and a lot of it was fairly easy to understand. I’m anxious to listen to more salsa, bachata or vallenato songs and be able to understand the lyrics.

I have a little over 3 months left in my Spanish course. I think the last day is May 24. My visa expires June 5. I’m thinking about taking 2 weeks to travel after that, either to Venezuela or Argentina. I need to check on costs first. After that, I will return to the states until the second week in October, when I plan to return to Cali for, possibly, another year. My time in the states will be split between Oregon and Washington, Colorado and Arizona. I would also like to go to Scotland in July for a wedding of a friend of mine. But right now, that’s just a dream.

Leave a Reply

