Brisas de las Palmas again

By gregebersole

February 22, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Last Sunday, I walked up this road again in Brisas de las Palmas to help with Fundación Siembra Comunidad, the foundation team and their project with the kids. I hadn’t been there for awhile, so it was great to go again. I really like both the team and the kids they work with. Sunday afternoon, the project with the kids was to interview five different professionals from different professions. Does that make sense? Anyway, I was one that they asked. We each had to talk a little about what we do or did and then answer questions from the kids. I talked about my career as a newspaper photographer and what they do. I’m happy to say that I didn’t even need a translator. I was able to speak, listen and answer questions totally in the language of Colombia- Spanish. Lately, I feel that my Spanish comprehension and speaking ability has been improving greatly. My Colombian friends agree. I spent almost 8 hours in Brisas, a lot of the time taking photographs. I went home with about 500 photos on my digital card. Last night, I edited everything down to about 300. I had let various kids take photos with my camera. Many are quite interested in photography. I had the motor drive on, so I ended up with a lot of extra photos of the same thing. I hope to go back regularly to help out with the projects. They are always designed with a purpose. That is to make the kids think and to teach them some life skills. They learn how to interact with other kids and adults and how to resolve differences. Some of these kids have rarely or ever been out of their poor barrio. It is their Cali. The foundation doesn’t take the place of schools. It works more on self esteem issues and character which goes alongside what they learn in school. Hopefully, it will prepare them better for the future and their jobs and careers.

Leave a Reply

