A photographer is born

By gregebersole

February 25, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

The joy of photography! My friend, Daniela, in the barrio, Brisas de las Palmas, takes a photo. I think she’s hooked on it now. She also tried my large and heavy Canon EOS 40D and liked it too. I wish I had a small camera to give her. I was lucky. My folks got me a camera when I was very young. A Kodak camera. I remember taking photos of parades in Phoenix and cactus in the desert. I was hooked too. Only then, we couldn’t see our photos immediately. We had to wait a week or two after sending the film to Kodak before our little prints were received back in the mail. Seeing the photos I shot, as soon as I could, never got old. It was always a thrill. Eventually, after trying an endless number of different kinds of jobs, I decided I could make a living as a photographer. I wish I had figured that out a lot earlier. Sometimes, it takes me a long time to figure out the obvious. Years later, I still love taking photos.

This evening, I was able to place 411 photos in Drop Box. Now, my picture editor in the states can retrieve them and start to look at them and edit them. Next time we talk, he should have some guidance as to how my possible book will shape out. I’m anxious to hear his thoughts. It’s always intimidating to have a really good editor look at your work and critique it. It’s also quite humbling. In the end, though, it’s always rewarding. You gain insights into how you shoot photos and ways you can improve on your style or technique. I’m always ready to learn something new and to become a better photographer.

Leave a Reply

