Ash Wednesday

By gregebersole

March 9, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Today is Ash Wednesday. I’ve seen lots of people walking the sidewalks with black ash in the sign of the cross on their foreheads. Ash Wednesday is a day of repentance and the beginning of Lent. It occurs 46 days before Easter. I wanted to get a photo today of someone with the cross on their forehead. I happened to stop in at Augusto’s panaderia this evening for an arepa and there it was- a photo waiting for me. One of Augusto’s night employees, Fernando, had an ash cross on his forehead. I took a few photos and then got this one of him with Hebita, one of my favorite employees there. When she sees me coming in the morning, she often has my coffee on the table, practically before I sit down. I’m often slow, since I’m talking to someone or looking at the headlines of the newspaper hanging on the rack. She’s a good person and an extremely hard worker. I like to joke around with her too.

Today, I spent most of the day studying my Spanish and working on homework. I’ve been going over the direct and indirect object pronouns, and also the reflexive pronoun, se. I want to be able to use them in my conversation without stopping to think first. it’s been confusing, but I think I’m starting to get a handle on it. Tomorrow, I have the entire day to finish the homework. We are reading so much now, and I have to look up a lot of words in the dictionary. But, the class is good and my teacher, of course, is great. She really loves teaching, both Spanish and German.

Leave a Reply

