Spending time with dad

By gregebersole

April 7, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Last Monday morning, I flew out of Cali to Miami, then to Denver. My dad had recently broke his hip and then had surgery. He recovered fine, but then developed pneumonia and other complications. He hasn’t been able to swallow. He was moved into hospice in the hospital in Greeley, Colorado. I was picked up at the airport by my brother, Ken, and we went to the hospital. Karen had kept him awake so he could see me that night yet. I hadn’t seen him for about a year. I was able to talk to him some. The next days and nights, my brother and sister and I have stayed with him in his room. He is receiving pain medication and sleeps a lot now. When we wakes for short periods, we are able to talk a little and give him ice chips and a little orange sherbet. We have told him when he’s ready he can leave us and go be with his wife. In one week, it will be the anniversary of her death, five years ago. It is a difficult time for us, but we have had time to prepare. My dad is 88 years old. His only sister lives in Kansas and is 97. They haven’t seen each other for many years. Yesterday, he was able to talk a little to her and hear her talk to him. It was good for him to hear her voice. And, I was so glad I was able to get here while he is still alive and to be able to say goodbye.
In this photo, my brother, Ken, and sister, Karen, are feeding him ice chips.

Leave a Reply

