Happy Easter, Feliz Pascua!

By gregebersole

April 24, 2011

Category: Travel

1 Comment »

Happy Easter or Feliz Pascua to everyone. I went to Augusto’s panaderia this morning for breakfast. On Sunday, I usually get a Potato filled with rice and a boiled egg and my coffee. I also get the El País to read and share with Augusto, the owner. The usually busy place was pretty empty this morning. At 11 a.m., I went to mass at the Iglesia San Fernando, which is close to where I live. I’m not a Catholic, but I wanted to join other Colombians together for an Easter service. I was able to understand some of what the priest said. The singing accompanied by a guitarist was nice.

Last night, I was to join some friends at about 7 or 7:30 p.m. I figured that meant 8 or later. It did. I was chatting with some friends online to see when and how we were getting to the house where everyone was to meet. Soon, it started raining, so we all decided to wait until it stopped. After more chatting about where to catch a bus, I heard from another friend with a car. I could ride with her. Finally, about 10 p.m., she texted me and said she’d be at the corner in front of Club Noel hospital in 5 minutes. I left soon, but figured that meant 10 to 20 minutes. Another friend was waiting there, and within 15 minutes or so, our ride came. We went to San Antonio to Macondo, my favorite coffee shop, and met a large group there. We sat and talked for about 30 minutes, then about half of us decided we didn’t really want anything, so we left. Then we talked in the street for another 30 minutes or more, finally going to the house at 11 to 11:30. There were a lot of people there that I didn’t know, but my friends and I stayed in the front room together. We visited with each other and soon began to dance to the salsa music. I had a great dance (en linea or LA style) with my friend, Dilia. She can follow that style pretty well and it was fun. Later, I danced with several other friends in a combination of LA style and Caleño style. Eventually, some of us began talking about leaving soon, but then stayed longer. An hour or so later, we had to figure out who was going in what direction and to try to get a ride or taxi together. I caught a ride with Alejandro and Dilia who were heading south and were able to drop me off at my house. I’m getting more used to the randomness of our get togethers and I understand more how things operate in general here. I don’t worry so much about punctuality anymore.. Things will happen when they happen. When I’m with my friends here, I never feel like I’m a foreigner. I get along well with everyone and fit right in. Which is the way I want it. I prefer to speak Spanish with everyone. My friends tell me it is so much better now and I feel that I can converse fairly easily in the language. Some of my friends can speak some English, but I don’t even know all of them that can. I just automatically speak Spanish with everyone. Sometimes, life here seems so normal and comfortable to me. Then, other times, I remember, that, yes, I am living in a Latin country and there are things that are different here than in the states. But for now, this is where I want to live. That may change in the future. I don’t really know. I try not to think that far ahead.

One Response to “Happy Easter, Feliz Pascua!”

  1. Happy Easter Greg!

Leave a Reply

