Thoughts

By gregebersole

May 3, 2011

Category: Travel

2 Comments »

I didn’t take this photo. I borrowed it from Natalia’s group of photos from Dilia’s party at Tin Tin Deo. Cameras were handed to someone and they took photos of our group. Natalia is in the photo so I’m guessing she handed her camera to someone else for the pic. I’m up near the top in the center. This was our weekly group shot Thursday evening at after 3 hours of dancing. They close at 1 a.m. Thursdays. When the lights come on and it’s time to leave, we all crowd together for a group photo. These are some of the friends I hang out with. I know most of the people in the photo, but not quite all. We all have a great time visiting and dancing.

Yesterday, I was glad no one said anything to me about Osama Bin Laden. I was expecting to have to say something, either in class or at the panaderia. But life was the same here. In class, we talked about other things. Actually, I’m glad I was here and not in the states. To me, it seems totally wrong to be celebrating the death of someone, regardless of who he is. The party atmosphere in the streets of various places in the US seems a little gross. To me, murder is murder and shouldn’t be celebrated. I’ve always felt it was wrong to take someone’s life and I will always believe that. Thinking about the 9/11 tragedy, I wonder if another act of violence can really heal the wounds inflicted by other violence. I don’t think so. Some people have posted a quote from Martin Luther King, Jr. on Facebook. It seems like a good quote to post here.

“I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”

This afternoon, I went to the little restaurant nearby to watch the second half of another Barcelona-Real Madrid soccer match. Not long after I arrived, Barcelona scored and everyone cheered and the owner went around highfiving everyone. Madrid scored later and the match ended in a tie which I guess was good for Barcelona. When I left, the owner told me to come back the 27th or 28th for the next rematch. He said I bring good luck. It’s fun to watch soccer there with local crazed soccer enthusiasts.

2 Responses to “Thoughts”

  1. Greg no había visto que tenias la foto de mi album, a mi tambien me gusto muchoe esa foto. No habia leido la frase de Martin Luther, es exactamente lo que pienso. Me gusta leerte, un abrazo

  2. Gracias, Natalia!! Es un foto muy bacano. Me alegra que leíste que escribí. Un abrazo tambien!

Leave a Reply

