A Mother’s Day salsa performance

By gregebersole

May 8, 2011

Category: Travel

1 Comment »

I walked to the ciclovida today. It wasn’t as crowded as usual due to Mother’s Day. There was a stage where this couple was performing a salsa dance number. I think the three people in the back who are not paying attention to the dancers are interesting. I walked quite a bit and my knee didn’t bother me any. Hopefully, my ligament is healing fast.

There were a lot of people carrying bouquets of flowers and roses. Many people were walking with their mothers. It was nice to watch people today. I feel a little sad since my mother has been gone now for 5 years. I had a nice lunch at 1:30 p.m., with roasted chicken, rice and beans, salad and lemonade. For about $2.

A few months ago or so, I wrote a little about friends here. I mentioned how some had disappeared and were not close anymore. I received a lot of comments and some explanations from my Cali friends. I feel a lot better about friendships now. Two former friends I never see anymore. A few others I see occasionally, but we’re not as close. But, then there are so many that continue to be here for me and many new friends I’ve made in the past several months. I enjoy them all. I have one good friend who loves to go to movies as much as me. We go pretty often. I have a much greater social life here in Cali then I did in Longview, Washington. Some of that was my fault and also due to working a lot. And, I have to admit, I’ve also fallen in love with three women during the year and a half I’ve been living here. Yeah, I’m normal. It continually gives me a lot to think about. And, that’s all I’m going to say about that.

Happy Mother’s Day, everyone!!

One Response to “A Mother’s Day salsa performance”

  1. Happy Mother’s Day to you too, Greg! Looking forward to seeing you here in Washington this summer.
    If you can, try to see the movie “Water for Elephants” with Reece Witherspoon and Robert Pattison (Kalama’s favorite vampire since part of the “Twilight” series was filmed here). It was wonderful. I treated myself to it Thursday night.
    It was set in a circus during the depression. My parents worked for a circus and a couple of carnivals when they came to the USA from Czechoslovakia during the depression. It was one way to learn English.

Leave a Reply

