The start of a birthday

By gregebersole

May 24, 2011

Category: Travel

3 Comments »

Yesterday was my birthday. It was a great day! It started with lots of birthday wishes and messages from FB friends. Later, I went to my last Spanish class. We didn’t do any work. We celebrated my birthday, along with the birthday (May 30) of my fellow student and friend, Juliana. We also had a despedida (goodbye party) for her. She, her husband, Rafael and their daughter, Angelina, are moving back to Brazil. They will stay in Rio for about 3 months before settling in Salvador. Juliana will have a baby in August, while they’re in Rio. They have become great friends, especially Juliana. We’ve been in classes together for about a year and a half. We often eat lunch together after class. I will miss her a lot. I plan to visit them sometime in Salvador. I often think about living in Brazil in 2014 during the year when the World Cup comes there. But, I may go to visit before then. In this photo, my Spanish teacher, Marlen, stands behind everyone. From left to right are, Sarah, Angelina, Juliana and Rafael. Sarah is moving back to Australia in July. She just finished her last Spanish class too, which is a level below mine. For the entire class, we visited and shared a wonderful lemon cake, made by another student in Sarah’s class, Antje. Then he hugged and said goodby to Juliana. That was sad. But, as Marlen said, they keep coming and going. More on the rest of the day in the next post.

3 Responses to “The start of a birthday”

  1. Happy Belated Birthday Greg!

    I love looking at the pictures of the people in Columbia. I miss seeing normal colored skin and am sooo sick of both men and women covered in tattoos. Especially ones that are of cartoons and company logos!

    I admit to having a few tats but, when I am old(er), at least my skin isn’t going to sag and look like a box of melted Crayolas.

  2. Gracias, Paloma! Yeah, it will be strange to walk around Portland again. There aren’t too many tattoos here, and the ones here are usually smaller.

  3. Greg,

    You are living life the way it’s supposed to be lived! Let the good times roll through another year, like the one you just had.

    hans

Leave a Reply

