An officer’s funeral

By gregebersole

June 1, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

I was walking down Calle 5 the other day and saw a lot of military police outside the Catholic church. Against an outside wall, several were slouched, some with eyes closed and waiting in the heat for the funeral to end when they needed to get into formation. I wanted that photo of them all resting in disorder. I started talking to a few and finally learned who I needed to talk to for permission to take a photo. Just as I received it, they received the order to quickly get into formation. Here is my first photo. I missed what I wanted. I could have photographed first, but thought it might be better to ask first since I was so close. If I had arrived a couple of minutes earlier, I might have been able to get that photo that I really wanted. Oh well, that’s the way it goes.

Leave a Reply

