New York

By gregebersole

June 11, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

I arrived at the Newark, New Jersey airport about 2 am. Friday. The flight was delayed due to bad weather. My friend from grad school at Ohio University, Joan, picked me up. She, her husband, Kris, and daughter, Ariela, live about 30 to 40 minutes away from the airport in New Valley, New York. They have about a 30 to 40 minute drive, also, to downtown New York City. I’m spending 5 days here before going on to Portland, Ore. Tonight, I get to watch Ariela perform in a play. It’s her last night of a 4 week stand. Today, she’s taking her SAT tests. I’ve been catching up on sleep and relaxing so far. We plan to go into the city tomorrow or Monday.

Yesterday, Joan’s cat caught a bird and tried to bring it into the house. It was alive. Joan rescued it and held it for awhile, stroking it. Soon, it had recovered, probably from shock, and quickly flew away. The photo shows Joan with the bird.

Yesterday, I went to Costco with Joan. All I could do was stare at the people. I’d forgotten how huge the stores are. Things are sold in large quantities and prices are lower than most places. You have to be a member to shop there. The store was full of a variety of people: Haitian people, many varieties of Jewish people in different kinds of dress, Hispanic people speaking Spanish and the extremely white (no tans) people wearing very casual attire. Very different from the people in Cali, Colombia. I’m also trying to get used to seeing so many huge cars and SUVs. Staying here for several days is good for me, getting reacquainted with the US again. And, it’s great to visit with Joan and Kris again, since my last visit here years ago. They are great friends. Joan grew up in New York and Kris is from Poland.

But, I’m missing Cali and my friends a lot. They’re constantly on my mind.

Leave a Reply

