Down memory lane

By gregebersole

June 20, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

After I graduated from high school, I had a summer job at the Chautauqua Dining Hall in Boulder at the foot of the Flatirons. (The mountains that look like flat irons.) I started out washing dishes and bussing tables and soon was cooking breakfasts and running the cash register. It was a fun summer job. In my free time, I hiked nearby in the foothills. I also had a summer romance. I had a major crush on a black haired Italian girl. She worked there also for the summer. Her father had a summer job as an engineering professor at the University of Colorado. Annette was cute, funny and a real live wire. We got along great. We seriously believed we could read each other’s minds. We could finish each other’s sentences. We were young and in love. We wrote each other for a long time. A couple of years later, I went to Illinois for a wedding and went to see her in Champaign. We had a good visit and I remember we rode a bike together, she in front on the bar, just like they did in the movie, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. But, like a lot of things, it didn’t last and we moved on. I often wonder whatever happened to her. She was smart, so she’s probably a professor somewhere or has a great and important profession. And, I bet she’s still cute and funny and very active.

Leave a comment