Leaving the US today

By gregebersole

October 19, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

When I left Arizona a week ago, I had coffee with my friend, Chris Keith, before traveling to San Diego. She has been a friend of mine for a long time, ever since we were in grad school together at Ohio University. She is a great photographer and worked for the Arizona Republic and the Arizona Highways. She is now busy trying to set up a freelance business in Phoenix.

I am now sitting in the Portland, Oregon, airport, waiting for my flight to San Francisco. They have free wifi which is very nice. In San Francisco, I change to American Airlines and fly to Miami. There, I will have a long wait in the airport until my flight to Bogota leaves. Hopefully, they’ll have free wifi there. I can’t remember if they do or not. So far, everything has been smooth. For being in an airport, I’m feeling amazingly calm. Usually, getting to, and going through security stress me out. I’ve been lucky to have a great 4 1/2 months in the states. I traveled a lot, including a big trip to Kansas, Iowa and Indiana, visiting friends and relatives. I spent time in Colorado, also visiting friends and relatives. I spent a month in Arizona with my son and his fiance before they got married Oct. 9. My daughters and families arrived a week before the wedding. It was great to spend time with all of them. The wedding was beautiful and the grand finale to my time here in the states. I also holed up in Tigard, Oregon, working on my book. I had good comments and criticism from many. After three proofs, it is now done and available at Blurb.com. bookstore. I tells about being laid off at The Daily News after a career of 20 years, and then making changes and creating a life abroad in Cali, Colombia. I have lived there about 1 1/2 years and today I return for another year. I look forward with excitement and wonder about what the next year will bring. I have missed all my friends there and look forward to seeing them again. I plan to continue this blog and to continually make new photographs. Watch for photos from Cali soon! I will be immersed into Spanish again quickly. I hope I’m not too bad at it after speaking English so long here.

Leave a Reply

