Back in Cali again!

By gregebersole

October 21, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

No this isn’t Cali, but I don’t have any photos yet. This was a photo of the Grand Canyon from my trip there with Natalia Restrepo.

Last night, I arrived in Cali again, to stay for about a year. It was a long trip from Portland, Oregon. I had a flight to San Francisco where I had to wait about 3 hours until my flight to Miami. I slept most of the way to Miami. Then, I had a 15 hour wait in the Miami airport. There was only one flight a day on American to Bogota. I had no options. Actually, the time went fairly fast. I visited airport shops, had several empanadas con guava y queso with coffee from a Cuban place, studied my Spanish, read the newspaper, etc. Actually, when I arrived at 5 a.m. I found a quiet spot and slept on the floor for 3 hours or more. I left for Bogota about 5:30 p.m. yesterday. It was a quick flight and I had a good complimentary meal (international flight). Then I slept most of the remainder of the flight. I went through customs easily and this time no one wanted to look through my luggage. I walked over to the domestic terminal and bought a ticket for a flight to Cali on Avianca Airlines. It was to leave in a half hour at 10 p.m. I went to area for luggage inspection. They x-rayed luggage and wanted me to open my backpack. I had a tiny scissors and fingernail clippers that they wanted to see. They ended up taking the scissors which were too small to cause a problem in the US. I was surprised. Then I was late. I’d missed the shuttle bus to the airplane. I waited with the Avianca women for the bus to return. Finally, in about 15 minutes it came. We went to the building where the planes were. Then, I had to follow two women, running through hallways, down stairways past other people, up another stairway and finally to the waiting plane. My heart was pounding so hard and I was completely out of breath. The women were gasping for air too. One looked up to the sky and said, “Gracias a Dios.” We had made it before the plane left. I forgot to say that I was running with a heavy backpack on and carrying my heavy camera bag too. I thought I was in shape. I better get back to the gym soon. In Cali, I took a fast taxi ride to my place, arriving about 12:15 a.m. Went to my room and was sleeping soon after. I’m here. It feels like home. But, once today, I was thinking, what am I doing here again? But, the thought quickly passed. I’m here because I love it, I love the people and I want to get more fluent with my Spanish.

Leave a Reply

