A baby shower

By gregebersole

December 19, 2011

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Yesterday I photographed my first Colombian baby shower. Well, it might have been my first baby shower, period. It was scheduled to start at 4 p.m. That’s Colombian time. I wanted to get there a little early to check it out for my photography. I took buses to the area, tried to find the house, but couldn’t find it. I kept trying to call my friend, Tatiana. I didn’t understand the directions exactly, so about 5 p.m., she came and found me. The house was only about 4 blocks from where I was. Arriving at 5, we were the only ones there. The guests hadn’t arrived yet. This is the first photo I took, of the mother to be in the decorated area where the gifts would be placed until she opened them. The guests started coming in every so often. We snacked on little treats and by 7 p.m. we finally started the shower. Their were a lot of games to play, some for the men, some for the kids and more for the women. The games all had something to do with being pregnant or something related to babies. The winners of the games received prizes. It was fun. Finally, it was time for the expectant woman to open her gifts. I shot a little over 30 minutes of video of her opening everything. Then, afterwards, I photographed her with the different guests. Lots of portraits. I also photographed the games and winners. I left a little after 9 p.m. It was fun and I was happy to experience my first Colombian baby shower.

Leave a Reply

