Loaded

By gregebersole

February 19, 2012

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Loaded up and heading for the Americá de Cali soccer match with Bogota. I stood at a spot along Calle 5 and took a few photos of buses passing with people hanging out the doors and windows, waving their red banners and flags.

Last night, I went with a small group of friends to a small place for salsa dancing. We’d never been there before. It was empty. For the night, we pretty much had the entire floor to ourselves. I had four women who wanted to dance right away. I was soon dancing pretty much all night. It was a lot of fun. The other three guys were extranjeros too. They were from Germany, Ireland and the US. The women were all Colombian. The music that was played was really good. It was a lot of fun. Thanks to Monica, Francy, Dilia and Beatrice for all the dances.

This morning, I was up after 5 hours of sleep. I joined a group of about 10 to climb Las Tres Cruces. Javier, Richie and I reached the top first in about 39 minutes. We pushed it pretty hard. After waiting for the others to arrive, we then took a group photo and rested some before heading down. Richie and I ended up in front and were soon heading down at a fast clip. We never saw the rest of the group again. We had a good descent, visiting and walking pretty fast. He’s 27 and the same age as my son. He’s from Ireland and has taught English in Japan. Now he teaches some English here and works as a translator, English to Japanese or visa versa.

Tomorrow morning, I go back to the dentist to have my permanent crown put on. Then, I plan to make an appointment with a new doctor for a complete physical. Getting myself all fixed up here where I can afford it.

Leave a Reply

