Another day in Bocas del Palo

By gregebersole

March 31, 2012

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Thursday morning, I got up at 4 a.m. and by 5 a.m. I was out the door to meet Juan Carlos. We took a series of buses to get to Bocas del Palo, four buses to be exact. Both big and small. I spent the day there, photographing again, getting photos of kids and adults in their classes and some portraits. In this photo, Jessica has a lagartija, or a gecko, a small lizard on her hand. Yari Marcella is next to her. These two girls are favorites of mine in the village. They are both pretty smart and have great personalities. I learned that Jessica is one of 4 sisters, with the oldest being 17. Jessica is 10. Their father was killed while in the military, I think. Recently, their mother took off, leaving the girls by themselves. All through my travels in various countries, there have been certain kids that I liked a lot and wished I could adopt. Jessica is one. She is always on the lookout for good photos for me. If she sees something, she calls or looks at me and pantomimes taking a photo, using her hands. She is my assistant. She is a good student and very active. Yari is a cousin. Juan Carlos, a teacher in the village, says that all the kids are cousins. It seems that they’re all related. After a long day, and several bus rides back to Cali, I got home about 7:30 p.m. I was wiped out. I took a shower and that was it. I didn’t have the energy to go to Tin Tin Deo for salsa. Even though, I wanted to.

Leave a Reply

