Leaving Arizona

By gregebersole

September 30, 2012

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

My friend, Chris Keith, and I, hiked the Peralta Trail in the Superstition Mountains a few days ago. The weather was perfect and we had a great hike, spending about 4 hours together. It was good to catch up with what’s going on in her life. She and I were in grad school together at Ohio University. Since then, she worked as a photographer for the Arizona Republic newspaper and the Arizona Highways magazine.

I’ve had a great visit in Arizona, staying with my son, Dylan, his wife, Mary, and my new grandson, Alan. I’ve been here a month. I got three good hikes in, a football game, a Little Feat concert and some good meals, many that Dylan cooked. I also had some good Thai and Mexican food, which I hadn’t had for about a year. I ordered it nice and spicy hot. Tomorrow morning, I leave for San Diego. It’s about a 6 hour drive, maybe less. I plan to stay with my cousin, Victor and his wife, Cheryl, for a couple of days before heading up north to Portland. I’m going to hate to leave Arizona, especially my son and family. But, in a week, I will be going to Alaska to see my daughters and their families. That will be great too. Except, it will be cold and maybe snowing some. But then, after a week in Alaska, I will be heading back to my home in Colombia. I already miss my life there and will be anxious to return. And, it won’t be cold there.

Leave a Reply

