Loading up

By gregebersole

November 22, 2012

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

I photographed this bus being loaded up recently. No, they’re not going anywhere for the Thanksgiving holiday. This type of bus goes to nearby towns. Thank goodness, it doesn’t go long distances. The long distance buses are much more comfortable.

Today is Thanksgiving. I wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving. Hopefully, you are sharing the day with friends and relatives. In yet another year, I’m alone for Thanksgiving. The holiday is not celebrated here in Colombia. I think this may be my 4th Thanksgiving here. I’m hoping next year I will have a normal Thanksgiving in the states. Maybe, even Christmas too. On days like today, I’m thinking maybe my time in Colombia has run it’s course. Maybe, the novelty has worn off. I’m getting a little bored. Once I find someone to accompany me into Siloé once in awhile to take photos, I’ll be happier. I need a good project to work on and get my mind busy on that. I would like to photograph in Siloé like I did in Bocas del Palo.

Most of the time, I still enjoy living in Cali. But, on days like today, I feel a little lonely and thnk about some of the great Thanksgivings I used to have in the states. Gathering with friends and/or relatives and sharing home cooked meals with roast turkey, wonderful stuffing, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce, green bean casserole, and, of course, those wonderful pies- pumpkin, pecan, apple or strawberry/rhubarb with whipped cream or ice cream on top. Today, I will probably have my normal $2 lunch with chicken or fish. No turkey. I think I’ll go see a movie in the afternoon to get my mind off stuff for awhile.

On a day where I used to enjoy time with friends, today I may not see any friends in Cali unless I go to the salsa club tonight. And I don’t know if I’m up for that. I have seen many friends of mine in Cali leave for other places. Many are living abroad somewhere now. Some are in other parts of Colombia. Some, who I thought were friends, I haven’t seen for a year or so. Unfortunately, a few seemed to be friends when they thought they could get something from me. I have graciously loaned money to some because I knew they needed it. I received some of the money back, but never all. There was no explanation or reason for not paying the rest. And, now, I don’t see those “friends” anymore. This past summer, while in the states, a friend and I wrote often and talked about reconnecting again and getting together when I got back to Cali. Well, it’s been 5 weeks now and we still have yet to reconnect. The first week, she said she was busy and working 6 days. I said that’s okay, and to just let me know when she had a chance for us to get together. That was 4 weeks ago. I am thankful, though, for the few friends I have seen several times since I’ve been back. One has been a good and loyal friend for over 3 years now.

It seems like this post is a little negative. I must say that I have loved Cali and Colombia and feel fortunate that I could live here for so long, so easily. I have had a lot of good things happen here and have had many successes. But, it’s the lonely times and the failures that I’m thinking of today. Thank God that tomorrow is another day. And, thank God for all the blessings he has provided me once again this year.

Leave a Reply

