Laura

By gregebersole

February 24, 2013

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

In the second soccer match yesterday, Laura scored a beautiful goal, a strong sideways kick. She is one of about 4 girls playing on the team. In the first match, another girl scored a goal. The kids all get the same amount of playing time. One boy who seemed like the littlest guy was a real pest for the opposing team. He was really fast on offense and a relentless pest on defense. He was so fun to watch. His enthusiasm made up for the polish he lacked on some skills. He was a real competitor and will soon become a really good player. I have no doubt about that.

Today, I was supposed to climb Pico del Loro with about 14 others. It is a 9,000 ft. mountain. After an hour bus ride to the base of the mountain, the climb was to take about 3 hours or so up to the peak. I had to get up at 4 a.m. to leave around 5 a.m. At about 3 a.m., I was awoken by the sound of rain. It hadn’t rained for many days. By 4, it had stopped, but then started again soon after 5. The climb was cancelled. We will try again next Sunday. Instead of sitting on the top of the mountain this afternoon, I sat in a theater watching a movie. Yesterday, I had bought a small day pack while in Siloé. It cost me only about $13. Last night, I had it all packed with snacks, a lunch and my fleece jacket, all ready to go for this morning. The movie I saw instead this afternoon was Silver Linings Playback. I liked it and laughed out loud quite often. The music was great also.

Leave a Reply

