Nighttime in Siloé

By gregebersole

April 20, 2013

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Last Sunday when I spent about 12 hours in Siloé, I wanted to go with Pichi to a pentecostal church to get some photos. The church started about 6 p.m. and people kept arriving for the next half hour or so. I took some photos inside and outside. Outside, I caught this couple on a concrete ledge with the lights of Siloé in the background. I wanted a shot or too from the night for my collection of photos for my upcoming photo exhibition. Inside, there was a lot of singing, clapping hands, praying and worshiping. People were quite emotional. The pastor and staff had agreed to let me take photos of whatever I wanted and from wherever I wanted. One worship leader even took my camera to take some photos from the stage for me. It was nice of him. He got one really great photo that I wish I could use, but I didn’t take it. Afterwards, Pichi flagged down a motorcyclist who could take me down to the bottom and I could get home. I have been very lucky to have the access that I have had in Siloé. I’ve hardly ever felt scared or in danger. It’s weird, since all of my Colombian friends have never been here and are afraid to come. They believe it’s very dangerous.

In the afternoon, I watched the championship soccer match at the soccer field in Lleras with the young guys I’ve gotten to know. All in all, it was a good day and I got a lot of good photos, including a few I think will be in my upcoming show in July.

Leave a Reply

