Sprucing up Cali

By gregebersole

July 21, 2013

Category: Travel

1 Comment »

In the past several months, employed workers and many volunteers have been busy sprucing up Cali in preparation for the World Games that start Thursday. They planted trees and shrubbery, removed graffiti, and scraped and painted walls, railings and monuments around the city. They have even worked hard in Siloé to make it look nicer. The Caleños have a lot of pride in their city. I have so much love and respect for these people and the city that has been my home for almost 4 years now. I may not return for a fifth year, but I will always have my wonderful memories and great love for this place and the many friends I’ve made. Especially the ones who’ve remained loyal throughout my 4 years here. The man in the photo was patching holes in the ceiling before painting it at the Jovita park near the Mio station Santa Librada.

I have tickets for 5 events in the World Games, the inaugural night, rugby, baile deportive (sport dance), sumo and kayak polo. I didn’t have anyone to photograph the Games for so I couldn’t get a photo press pass. I will take my camera and take photos from my seat. I will enjoy the events I go to. My tickets cost from 7,500 pesos to 18,500 pesos. It was the equivalent of about $3.75 to $9.50. Not too bad. I just read that the lowest prices for the World Cup in Brazil next year will be $90. From there, they will go up to $300 to $500 depending on the seat. I doubt whether I’ll be able to afford to go.

One Response to “Sprucing up Cali”

  1. Wow! Amazing work! I love stumbling across new murals in the city! Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

