And the sumo women

By gregebersole

July 30, 2013

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Here’s a photo from the women’s heavyweight class at the sumo event of the World Games. Some of the women were pretty tough and a little brutal. The wrestling ring was covered with sand, which they kept brushing with a broom to keep it even. If a wrestler went down or was pushed out of the ring, they lost the match. After the event was over about 8 p.m., I decided to try to find a bus to the main bus line on Calle 5. I asked around and learned I could catch one across the street. I waited and soon found the right bus which took me to the Universidades MIO station where I caught my regular bus to my barrio. Total cost getting home was 1,600 pesos, or about 85 cents.

Leave a Reply

