Leaving Colorado tomorrow

By gregebersole

October 25, 2013

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Today is my last day in Colorado. I’m driving to Albuquerque tomorrow morning, hoping to see a first cousin of mine and other friends. Then, a day later, I will head to Arizona. I’m anxious to get to warm weather again. I’ve been scraping ice of the windshield of my car every morning lately. The days have been pretty nice, but the nights and early mornings are pretty cold. I’ve enjoyed my visit here. I’ve had great times with my brother, Ken, and his family and with my sister, Karen, and her husband, Bob. I’ve got to hike several times in the Flatirons, above Boulder, shown in this photo. I was also able to hike in newly fallen snow also. I was happy to share time and lunches with Willie Knierim, my high school world history teacher and Cliff Grassmick, a Boulder Daily Camera photographer who used to work with me at the Longmont Times-Call, many years ago. I spent time with good friends in Denver, Arlen and Lola Hershberger and Tom and Ruth Frieson. I enjoyed walking through the campus of the University of Colorado in Boulder a couple of times and eating in the Alfred Packer Grill. It brought back a lot of memories from when I was a student there. I enjoyed watching and photographing my niece, Allison Ebersole, play varsity volleyball for her school, Centaurus High. I also got to see my nephew, Ryan Ebersole, play lacrosse for his school, the Univ. of New Mexico, during a tournament in Durango. There were many more good experiences here in Colorado, but I’m now ready to spend time at my son’s home in Mesa, Arizona again.

My brother Ken’s soccer team won their first playoff match Wednesday evening in Colorado Springs. They won in overtime, 3-2. They play again next Tuesday against a team they beat once already. I’m hoping they have more success!

Leave a Reply

