Christmas

By gregebersole

December 27, 2013

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Merry Christmas! Once again, I spent it in Cali, Colombia. We’ll see what happens next year. I was invited to spend Christmas, which is celebrated on Christmas eve, with my friends Javier and his girlfriend, Yenny. His sister, husband and son and daughters from Bogota were there also. I walked past this scene in downtown and arrived at Javier’s apartment about 8:30 p.m. As per Colombian time, things were running slow. At about 11 p.m., we moved food and things outside to a patio area. A barbecue grill was started and we began to slowly grill chorizos (sausages) corn on the cob, potatoes, plantanos, carne asada and small potatoes. We kept filling up our plates with food as it was ready. The night was beautiful and we could hear fireworks most of the evening, celebrating Christmas. I think I left about 2 a.m. or so, and I decided not to spend the money on a cab, but to walk. I walked home without any problem. I never am afraid of walking along Calle 5 late. I just try to look my best as a Colombian and walk like I know where I’m going, (which I do) and like I’ve done it hundreds of times before.(which I have) It was a fun evening. I’m thankful for having friends each year with whom to spend Christmas.

Leave a Reply

