Feria de Cali

By gregebersole

December 30, 2013

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Today is the official last day of the Feria de Cali. It’s a week-long salsa festival, featuring lots of parades and concerts. I had received press photos passes the last several years and was able to go anywhere to take photos. This year, I didn’t get around to applying for one. I was a little tired of all the hours of waiting and the huge crowds. On the first day, I went to the parade site for the opening day parade. I met some friends and we found a spot fairly close to the retaining wall along the parade route and began our wait. We had arrived around noon. In the photo, I’m pictured with friends, Natalia and Beatrice. The guy in the back was playing the cowbell constantly. The parade was supposed to start at 2 p.m. By 3:30 p.m., it still hadn’t started. It was getting very crowded and noisy in our spot, especially with the constantly loud banging of the cowbell in my ears. Beatrice and I decided we had had enough and left. So, I didn’t even see one parade this year. We left our other 6 friends or so there. I did, though, make it to one concert, Cali’s own Grupo Niche. They were very good and played for about 2 hours straight. I went with my friends, Javier and Yenny, and Javier’s sister and husband and older daughter. We ended up in the very front row in front of the stage. It was a fun evening.

Leave a Reply

