Cali from Las Tres Cruces

By gregebersole

January 9, 2014

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

This is a view of Cali from part way up the mountain, Las Tres Cruces. I made the climb twice this past week. I was on the top in 40 minutes both times. Going down takes me from 30 to 34 minutes usually. I run part of the way down. The last time up I had a later start and it was hotter, but I still made it up in 40 minutes. I thought I was a lot slower. My best time going up, though, has been 36 or 37 minutes I think.

Yesterday morning, I woke up, got out of bed, slipped on my tiled floor and almost fell. There was water everywhere and a lot under my bed. It had rained steadily the night before. This was the first time I had water in my room. Usually, it’s on the bathroom floor whenever it rains. I put newspapers down where it was coming in and mopped the floor. Today, it’s all dry and back to normal.

This morning, we had two small earthquake tremors. We also had a larger one last Sunday. I felt two out of the three of them. One of today’s tremors was about 35 miles from Cali. The one on Sunday was pretty strong and seemed long. I was in bed and it vibrated hard. It’s always a very strange feeling and you’re not sure what to do. I think if it was any stronger, I’d run outside for the patio. I live in an old house and I’m not sure how sturdy it would be.

Leave a Reply

