Martin Luther King Day

By gregebersole

January 20, 2014

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Happy Martin Luther King Day! This is one of my favorite photos I took in Bocas del Palo, a small town near Jamundí. About 800 Afrocolombianos live there. When I photographed there, I was the only white guy in town. The people there opened their doors and hearts to me. It was one of the great experiences in my life. Of course, I feel that I’ve had a lot of them. But, I made so many friends there that will always have a place in my heart. I don’t think any of us was thinking about the color of our skin. As Dr. King said in one of his speeches, “I have a dream that all children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.” And, I know that these little friends of mine have some real character! I was so privileged to see and hear Dr. King speak in person and afterwards, to shake his hand.

Leave a Reply

