Taking friends up Las Tres Cruces

By gregebersole

March 18, 2014

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Last Sunday, the weather was finally dry enough for Augusto and I to climb Las Tres Cruces. He is my friend and owner of the panaderia and restaurant that I frequent. His wife, Claudia, and their son, Esteban, also came along. We got a late start, but it was fairly cool while we were starting up. The ground wasn’t completely dry from the light rain we had during the night, but it wasn’t bad. Augusto set a fast pace. I was surprised. I didn’t know if he would make it. I didn’t think he was in the best of shape. He hiked a good pace until near the top when he started getting a little fatigued. I think Esteban did the worst, really. He had to stop once on the way up to get something to eat and once on the way down. He wasn’t enjoying the climb. Augusto and I made it up in about 42 minutes, followed shortly afterwards by the others. Not a bad time for a group. On the way down, we stopped so I could get a photo of them on the big rock. I yelled for Augusto to jump and he did, getting a good jump. I feel I’m about ready to tackle the mountain alone, early in the morning, and try for my record time of 30 minutes. Maybe this week. I need a good morning with no rain.

Leave a Reply

