Siloé visit

By gregebersole

April 30, 2014

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Yesterday, I made a visit to Siloé. I hadn’t seen Pichi in awhile, so I decided to go to his soccer practice in La Estrella. I stopped for a small mango en leche first. My friend, Alvaro, hasn’t worked at the juice stand for a couple of months now. The woman making them now only charged me mil pesos for it. About 59 cents. I took a motorcycle up to the soccer field. The driver was one of my regular ones. He told me that Alvaro moved to somewhere about an hour away. He also had a cell phone number for him, which he gave to me. Now I can call him before I leave Cali. It would be nice to see him again. I took some photos of the soccer practice, but I liked this photo better. It’s part of the mural along the field. The practice session was from 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. By the time I headed down to La Nave, the lower part of Siloé, it was dark. The houses on the side of the mountain were all lit up and the views were beautiful.

I spent a lot of time on FB this afternoon, trying to explain to my friend, Yessica, in Bocas del Palo, why I couldn’t take her with me to the states in about 3 weeks. I think she was pretty serious about going. She was going to have her mom call the embassy for a visa. I tried to explain to her that it’s a little more complicated than that. I feel bad about it, but I suggested she finish school first, then maybe I could help her find a summer job or some way that she could get to come for a visit.
I hope to make a trip Bocas del Palo before I leave Cali. I want to see Yessica again and other friends in the small town. I will always remember the town and it’s people fondly.

With only a little more than 3 weeks left in Cali, I’ve started to go through my stuff and get rid of things I don’t need or can’t take back with me to the states. I’m hoping to fit everything into my backpack and small suitcase, but I may need to find a larger suitcase.

Leave a Reply

