Clouds

By gregebersole

May 8, 2014

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

This evening, it started getting dark early. I went outside and checked the sky. Storm clouds were everywhere. I wanted to get some photos so I hurried up to Loma de la Cruz. It’s an area with a lot of shops selling handicrafts and vendors selling arepas, chorizo and other varieties of food. There are usually people hanging out and visiting. There are good views of the city of Cali from there also. This photo shows the street that I take when I walk to and from Loma de la Cruz. I’m going to miss scenes like this in the barrio, Liberatores, when I leave Cali in about 2 weeks.

With my time short now, I’m busy trying to get things done that I need to do before I leave. I’m getting several of the Colombia soccer team shirts to take back to family members. I go downtown and check out various venders and haggle over the prices, checking the quality of the shirts before I buy any. I also plan to go to Siloé several more times, including tomorrow to Pichi’s soccer practice in Los Pozos. I am going to miss my good friend, Pichi, and the kids on his soccer teams. I will miss Siloé a lot. My Colombian friends all believe it is dangerous. And, it probably is in some ways, but I’ve fallen in love with it. I love going there. It’s always an adventure.

I’m not sure what the second half of 2014 will bring to me, but I’m starting to feel like I may not be back in Colombia to live again. I most likely will return sometime to visit. It would be hard not to. Cali has been my home for 4 1/2 years already. There are so many things I love about living here. And there are also so many things I love about Colombia. I get sad when I think that I may not be back, but, I’m feeling that I need a change. I need to spend more time with my kids and their families in the states. And, there are some other countries where I would like to spend some time again, like Mexico. The future is open and I’m confident that things will fall into place.

Leave a Reply

