Coffee and the newspaper for Jairo

By gregebersole

May 19, 2014

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

The other morning, I saw my homeless friend, Jairo, outside the panaderia where I had finished my coffee and newspaper. I bought him a coffee and gave him the paper to read. He was happy. We talked a little. I keep telling him he needs to climb Tres Cruces with me some day, but he won’t have anything to do with that. I haven’t told him yet that I’m leaving Cali on Sunday. I know he’ll miss me. I’ll miss him too and will always wonder how he’s doing.

We just had a good old hard rain and thunderstorm pass through. My bathroom floor got wet again, but not as bad as in the past. They fixed the opening in the roof above the shower somewhat. It’s not like it was before when rain just poured out of the opening. I had to keep emptying buckets of water into the toilet and throwing newspapers all over the floor to soak up the water.

Leave a Reply

