Reflection Lake and Mt. Rainier

By gregebersole

July 28, 2014

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

I got to Relection Lake in Mt. Rainier National Park fairly early, about 8:30 a.m., and was able to get a photo while the water was still. Later, the wind came up a little and it wasn’t so still. After and hour or so of taking photos and walking around the area, I hiked up the Pinnacle Peak trail and then climbed up Plummer Peak. Near the top, I scrambled through rock fields and the occasional large patch of snow. There were great views in all directions from the top. In the late afternoon, I turned off the highway near Rimrock Lake. There were many kids swimming in the river that emptied into the lake. I asked a guy where I could camp and he told me off of about any road. I drove back on one and found an area that looked nice. I then began to camp my first night for free. No facilities of any sort of course. I had my tent set up and bag out and ready quite early. Then I waited until about 8:30 p.m. to get in the tent. I read a lot in one of my books. I was getting bored, wondering what to do until bedtime. I decided to look at my photos on my laptop and get some ready to post in the morning. I realized I’m not a very good camper any more. I hadn’t camped for a long time, let alone, camped by myself. I forgot a flashlight and only had the remains of one bottle of water left, which I rationed out all evening. There was no sign of rain, so I left the rain flap up on the sides for more air and to see out. I heard several noises outside, but only once, I saw a chipmunk digging in the ground and hiding something. I slept fairly well, but kept thinking how a room with a bathroom and wifi would be so much better. Ha! I was up by about 7 a.m. The tent came down quickly. I was glad that there wasn’t any dew in the morning. The tent was dry and easy to fold up right away. I had another ham and cheese sandwich and a banana for breakfast and was on the road by 8:30 a.m. in search of coffee. I finally stopped in Yakima where I could get coffee and upload a photo and check messages on my laptop. Tonight, I hope to camp somewhere near Clarkston/Lewiston area.

Leave a Reply

