The new Miata

By gregebersole

August 22, 2014

Category: Travel

1 Comment »

Yesterday afternoon, I picked up my new Mazda Miata. I say new since it’s 3 years newer than my last. It’s dark green, which I don’t like as well as my dark blue one. But, everything else is better. It has a cd player instead of a cassette player and 4 speakers that all work. The sound is great. The dealer had the driver’s seat reupholstered and some stitching on the convertible roof near the rear view window done before I went to get the car. They also arranged for a new windshield which was installed today while the car sat in the driveway of my sister’s home. It doesn’t hurt to negotiate some with the price or details when buying something. Now, I’m mobile and ready to hit the road again. I’m excited about the new car, yet, I’m still a little in shock over the accident and all that I had to deal with since. In two weeks, my car was towed to Greeley and I began to deal with the insurance company and to look for another car. It all happened pretty fast. This car was only the second one that I looked at, and, I think it was meant to be. The dealer was located only a 10 minute drive from my sister’s home. The salesman was low key and really nice, which I liked. Everything seemed almost too easy. I am so glad I was able to stay at my sister’s home during this time.

I knew that 2014 would bring some changes, but I didn’t know what. I have now been back in the states about 3 months. The main thing I’m waiting for now is for my house in Washington to sell. I’m optimistic that a buyer will be found before too long. I’m now just passing time, waiting for that to happen and trying to figure out what to do in the meantime. I’m thinking of volunteering at a camp in the mountains near Colorado Springs and Cripple Creek next week. A friend of mine is in charge of a building project. They are tearing down a building and putting up a newer and larger one. I would help some with the demolition and clearing away tree branches, etc. It is a camp that I worked at when I was 16 years. I have fond memories of working on the summer staff. It’s in a beautiful location in the mountains. I did a lot of rock climbing and rappelling that summer. I also hiked up Pikes Peak several times, once starting at midnight on a hike during a full moon. We did it without flashlights. It was amazing. At present, I don’t have a lot of plans, other than to be in Arizona at my son’s home in October. Depending on what happens with my house, I might be able to go to either Mexico or Colombia in November or December.

One Response to “The new Miata”

  1. OK, now I see the answer to my Miata question!

Leave a Reply

