Maroon Bells

By gregebersole

September 15, 2014

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Wow, I haven’t done a post in almost a month. I have been busy traveling and working some. I haven’t always had easy internet access either. I volunteered at Rocky Mountain Camp for a week, working hard. I was sore every night and morning. It was hard physical labor, including busting up rocks and concrete, carrying the large pieces of concrete and rock into separate piles, throwing tree branches into a chipper, cutting down small trees that were too close to the edges of a road, and various other jobs. The lodging and food was provided. I was cold at nights and didn’t always sleep well. The food was great, though, and I ate too much since we could eat as much as we wanted.

Last week, I was in the Glenwood Springs area, visiting friends, Ken and Gail Kuhns in Silt, and Wyman Bontrager and his wife, Wendy, in New Castle. I worked a couple of days on the Kuhns CSA farm, picking and sorting vegetables, cleaning them and bagging peaches and nectarines. It was hard work. I decided that I’m glad I’m not a farmer and never entertained the idea. My mother grew up on a farm in Indiana, but didn’t become a farmer either. I went to Meeker one day with Wyman and Wendy to the Sheepdog Trials. It was fun to see the handlers and their border collies, competing in sheep herding competition. I also spent a day hiking in the Maroon Bells, shown in the photo above. I hiked from Maroon Lake to Crater Lake and back. It was about a 3 mile hike. It was beautiful and the Aspen leaves were just starting to turn bright yellow. I’ve now returned to Lafayette and will stay at my brother’s home for a couple of weeks yet before heading to Arizona.

Leave a Reply

