Time winding down in Colorado

By gregebersole

September 24, 2014

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

My time is winding down in Colorado. This weekend, I’ll be in Kansas visiting friends. I get to hear my friend, Tony Brown, give a concert. I traveled with him twice to Uganda. Then, next week, I will be driving down to Albuquerque to spend a few days. I plan to go to the big balloon festival on Saturday with my cousin, Ralph Lind. I also hope to see my nephew, Ryan Ebersole, play in a lacrosse tournament. Then, on either Sunday or Monday, I will drive to Mesa, Arizona, to stay with my son and family for the month of October. After that, I still don’t have definite plans. I’m thinking of flying to Cancún, Mexico, with a later trip to Cuba. I have wanted to go back to photograph for a long time. I have a friend there who is a mural painter. He has many murals all over Havana. He has also traveled abroad to paint murals. I would like to see him again. I spent quite a bit of time with him during my last vist. I’ve been reading up on information regarding travel to Cuba.

I’ve been a little down lately. Not a lot of good news since my accident. My house hasn’t sold, so I decided to take it off the market until spring or summer. The current tenant is still interested, though, and would buy next summer if his credit is restored. This week, I learned a classmate of mine from my senior year at Lafayette High School just died. I remember she sat near me in English class. I also learned that another old friend from Boulder died a year or two ago. I feel that I need to do the things that I’ve wanted to do soon. And take advantage of opportunities when they come. You never know how much time you have left. I’m thinking it’s time now to go back to Cuba. I also would like to go before Castro dies and things change.

I’ve been in the states for over 4 months now. I’ve missed many things about my life in Colombia and, most likely, I’ll return to live there again at some point until sometime in May when I return to the states again. I’ve had a lot of time lately to do a lot of thinking.

Oh, this photo was taken yesterday while hiking up the Flatirons in Boulder. I always have loved to hike here and love the beauty all throughout the year.

Leave a Reply

