Some things never change

By gregebersole

December 14, 2014

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Good ole Cali! Some things never change. I’m used to the lack of punctuality concept in Colombia, as well as most parts of Latin or South America. I’m often late now too. But, when I agree to meet someone at a certain time and they never show up, it still irritates me. Last night, I was to meet a friend who I hadn’t seen in a couple of years. We were going to meet at 6 p.m. and get a cup of coffee. I arrived about 5 minutes or so after 6 and waited until 7 p.m. I figured an hour was enough and that she was a no show. Neither of us had cell phones. I got back to my house about 7:30 p.m. and saw a message that she was meeting someone at a restaurant at 7:30. Great! I would of thought that since it was near our meeting place, she could have at least come by and let me know where she was going. After about 5 years of living in Cali, off and on, I’m used to people arriving late, often quite a bit late, but I’m still not used to getting blown off. I don’t like it when someone doesn’t show up or blows off an engagement like it wasn’t important. Some things never change!

The photo is of Gabriel Garcia Marquez, the author, who died this year. I saw the mural downtown on my walk yesterday.

Leave a Reply

