Living Concierto

By gregebersole

January 2, 2015

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Last Tuesday evening was the Living Concierto, the gran finale of la Feria de Cali, the week long salsa festival. Groups performing included Colombia’s own Grupo Niche, El Gran Combo of Puerto Rico and Los Van Van of Cuba. It started around 7 p.m. or so and Javier and I left about 3 a.m. before Oscar D’Leon was to perform. I’d seen him about three times anyway. I heard that the concert was finally over about 4 to 4:30 a.m. We left by walking all the way to the front and Javier talked our way past officials to the very front of the stage where we stopped to take photos before leaving. Javier and I had both bought tickets for the second best area in front of the stage in the baseball stadium. The best tickets were for the very front including chairs. Javier somehow talked our way into this section and we found other friends and had chairs for when we were tired of standing and dancing in place. One of the things I love about concerts here is that everyone knows the words to all the songs and sings along. They are so passionate and emotional. It doesn’t matter if the music is salsa or vallenato, they know all the songs and every word. This photo shows Los Van Van performing. I really enjoyed them. I had seen them a couple of times before in Cali. I also thought Grupo Niche were really good, a lot better and more energized than the last time I had seem them. And, of course, El Gran Combo were excellent. I don’t know the ages of their lead singers, but they sure can sing and dance! It was a great concert. I got home in time to sleep about 3 hours before it was too hot and sunny in my room for any more.

Leave a Reply

