Soccer practices

By gregebersole

March 24, 2015

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

This peaceful looking place is where I spent a lot of time last year. It’s the soccer field at La Amistad in Lleras, upper Siloé. This year, men have been working on the soccer field and the area there. They will be improving the field and adding concrete. Also, this spot has become a little “caliente”. In other words, hot or dangerous. Instead of Amistad, Pichi’s teams have been practicing on another small field in Los Posos, a different area higher up. Last Thursday, I headed up by motorcycle, like usual, to watch the kids practice. On the way up, the driver said he had to go a different route since it was a little “caliente” around Amistad. This has happened 2 or 3 times now. We bypass that area and arrive at Los Posos from the back. I paid him the usual 1,600 pesos (80 cents) for the trip up and started waking up the little path to the field. When I got there, a few kids were playing soccer and 3 of the usual guys who hang out there were sitting and watching. We all exchanged greetings and the kids told me Pichi hadn’t come. I waited about 10 to 15 minutes before knowing that he wouldn’t arrive. I wasn’t scared. I felt a little strange, being there by myself, though, without my friend, Pichi. After saying goodbye to everyone, I walked back down the path to the road and waited for a “jeep bus” to pass, flagged it down and rode back down to the bottom, the area called Nave. This was the third time that I had gone to Los Posos, only to find no Pichi. He hasn’t had a cell phone so I couldn’t call him beforehand, like I did last year. Then, Saturday, at his game in lower Siloé, he told me he was sorry he wasn’t there. He had gotten busy. He’s always a little surprised when I tell him I was there when he wasn’t. He said, “see, nothing happened to you. Everyone knows you and they aren’t going to do anything bad.” I’m so thankful that I have so many friends in Siloé and can go places no one else can. People that don’t live in Siloé or Los Posos. Still, it’s a little disconcerting when I hear about gunshots fired in areas around Los Posos or Amistad. That usually happens, though, in the evenings. But, I always feel a little better when Pichi is around. He knows everyone and if there’s someone I don’t know, he immediately introduces me to them so we can become friends. I couldn’t have found a better person to be my friend and guide in upper Siloé. And Saturday, he also told me he has a cellphone now. I will be able to call him before I head up next time.

Leave a Reply

