One thing I won’t miss, and it’s not the view

By gregebersole

May 11, 2015

Category: Travel

1 Comment »

I will always miss the views I’ve seen of Cali from up high, whether at night or during the day. This view I photographed the night I spent in Siloé. I’ve seen some amazing views of the city from high up the hill in Siloé and also, high up on Las Tres Cruces, the mountain overlooking the city.

One thing that I won’t miss and that annoys me to this day, after 5 1/2 years here, is when people plan something with me and then blow me off. Like, when Pichi made definite plans for me to come to lunch, but then on that day, his wife didn’t know anything about it and I didn’t have a way to reach Pichi since he’d lost his cell phone. Then, yesterday, the woman in the house where I live invited me to go to lunch with her and a few other friends. I said sure. I was doing stuff in my room and two hours later it was noon and I hadn’t heard anything back. Then, by about 1:30 p.m., I decided to go and get my lunch. She had already gone, evidently, with the others and never came to get me. Later, in the day, when I saw her, she never once said anything about it, no reason for it or an apology. Colombian friends have explained that to me. They say, “that’s Colombians for you.” I have been blown off so many times. I’m pretty much used to it, but it still annoys me. A month ago, a friend of mine from Cali, who had been living abroad for a couple of years, was visiting friends and family here for a month. We made plans to meet at a certain location and time one evening. I was there and waited an hour. She never arrived. I ended up not even seeing her during her time here. And, I considered her a good friend in the past. I was so annoyed that I deleted her from Facebook. In the past 6 months here, the same thing has happened at least 3 or 4 times. A visit or something planned and then nothing happened. I don’t understand it. If something came up and they couldn’t make it, just say so and I would understand. But, to not show and then say nothing, as if nothing had even been planned- that, I don’t understand and never will.

One Response to “One thing I won’t miss, and it’s not the view”

  1. I agree, very frustrating. I experienced that, even in the short time I was there.

Leave a Reply

