Back in the US

By gregebersole

June 2, 2015

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

I left Cali on May 22. My best friend in Cali, Liceth, wanted to go to the airport with me. My friend, Javier, offered to drive us there. After saying our goodbyes, I went and waited for my flight to Bogota. In Bogota, I had a wait and then a flight to Houston and, lastly, one to Phoenix. Everything went smoothly. In Phoenix, my friend, Jay, came to get me and take me to his home nearby. He had been storing my car under a cover in his back yard. It started right up and I soon drove to Mesa to my son’s home. It was fun to spend a few days with him and his wife and my two grandsons. Last Wednesday, around 7 p.m., I started driving towards Los Angeles and then north through California, Oregon and eventually, Kalama, Washington. I drove straight through until about 1 a.m. or so and then slept for about 3 hours in a rest area. Then, I started driving again until I reached Kalama. It was about 1490 miles. I got to my friend’s home about 10:30 p.m. Thursday night. I’m staying with them, Gary and Janet, this June. they have graciously offered me a bedroom in the basement. It’s a great and comfortable place to stay. They also keep feeding me great meals. Meanwhile, I hope to sell my house this month. We’ll see what happens on that. It’s a little strange to be back in the states again. I bought some books to read and I plan to start working out at a gym in Longview. I found one that will only charge me $20 a month with no joining fee. I also plan to continue going through my stuff in my storage unit and getting rid of more of it that I don’t need. For now, I’m thankful that I have a place to stay and things to do while I’m back in Washington. And, I’m cautiously optimistic on my house selling.

Leave a Reply

