One trip down and two to go for 2015

By gregebersole

September 26, 2015

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

My last trip was to Colorado. I break the driving up into two days, staying at the about halfway mark in Albuquerque, N.M. before continuing on the next morning. In Colorado, I spent time with my sister, Karen, and her husband, Bob, in Greeley. I also spent time with my brother, Ken, and his wife, Meredith, in Lafayette, near Boulder. The highlight of the trip was when my Cali friend, Liceth, came to Colorado to see me. It was her first time there. The year before, we had traveled together in Arizona and New York City. This time, we spent a week traveling together in various Colorado locations, including Boulder, Rocky Mountain National Park, Glenwood Springs, Aspen and Denver. We hiked in the Flatirons above Boulder one day. Another day, we hiked to four lakes in the national park and then drove up Trail Ridge Road. In Glenwood Springs, we hiked to Hanging Lake. Later, we went to Maroon Lake in Maroon Bells, where it was raining, unfortunately, putting a damper on our proposed hike to Capitol Lake. After a few photos in the rain with a cloudy and barely visible Maroon Bells in the background, we left to wander around Aspen. We had a great trip. Liceth is a great traveling companion. We are always on the same wavelength. I was so happy to show her some of my favorite places in Colorado. The week went by too fast and soon we were at the airport in Denver saying our goodbyes. It was hard to see her leave. The photo above was taken at Hanging Lake, in a light rain.

On this coming Wednesday, I fly to Indiana for several days. I will be attending my class reunion at Goshen College where I received a B.A in art. I also will get together with cousins and my aunt Mabel and uncle Russell for a Yoder reunion. My mom was a Yoder, one of six daughters. My grandpa, Ora Yoder, was a farmer and raised huge, Morgan horses. They didn’t have any sons, so the daughters were used to hard physical labor. It will be fun to see my relatives and my only remaining aunt and uncle, who are in their 90’s.

In early November, I plan to take my last trip for the year. I actually need to start doing a little planning soon. I will be traveling to Cuba. It will be my second time there. I first went in about 1994 or so. I want to return before things change too much. I plan to do a lot of photography, mainly in Havana. I hope to see some friends there that I made on my first trip. One is a famous mural painter. I also plan to go to the opening night of a large photo exhibition by Peter Turnley at the Museo de Bellas Artes.

As of now, those are the only trips I have planned. 2016 will, hopefully, give me the opportunity for some other trips. I’m, of course, always thinking about returning to Colombia for a visit and also going to Ecuador on the same trip. After a few months in the states, I always start missing Colombia, especially Cali. I’m also thinking about a trip to Argentina sometime. I’ve never been there. For now, I have my dreams and possibilities for the future.

Leave a Reply

