Maícal

By gregebersole

December 4, 2015

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

I’m pretty sure this is the way he spelled his name. I met Maícal early on in Havana. He was washing a cart full of lettuce, getting ready to sell on a street corner in Havana. We visited awhile in front of the building where he lived. I met his mom too. Then, I took a few photos of him. He told me he used to be a boxer, but not any more. He was super friendly and we became friends right away. He said with him, I could go anywhere. No problem. I guess if I had needed a bodyguard somewhere, he would have been a good one. Later, it seemed that I would run into him often when I was walking around Habana Vieja. One day, I told him I was looking for a good and cheap place to eat lunch. He had someone cover him at his vegetable cart and told me to follow him. We walked about 4 or 5 blocks to a place that I probably would have missed on my own. Inside, was a small place to eat. I had a large plate of chicken with rice and a little cabbage salad. It cost me only 10 pesos in Cuban national money, or about 50 cents or less. It was good. Maícal spoke very fast Spanish, and with that, in addition to missing a few teeth, I had a hard time understanding much of what he said in our conversations. He rarely asked me for anything. Once, in awhile, a coffee or a little change for food. He also found me the last place that I stayed at. I wanted a cheaper place and he found a good one for me. He knew a lot of people and had a lot of connections.

Leave a Reply

