Antonio

By gregebersole

December 22, 2015

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

This is another friend I made during my trip to Cuba recently. I spotted Antonio in a government store as I walked by one day. I wanted to photograph him. I quickly thought that he might not want his photo taken. He could be homeless and just trying to get some of his monthly rations in the store. I almost talked myself out of it. Then, I decided to just take a chance, go back and start talking to him. So, when he left the store, I followed him until I had a chance to talk. It turned out he was very nice and we had a good chat. I asked if I could get a photo of him. He said of course. It turned out he had three dogs and lived fairly close to where I was staying at my third house. Later, I ran into him a couple of times and he said to come see him before I leave Cuba. On the day before I was to leave, I saw him and we talked again. He didn’t have email so I couldn’t send him a photo. I’ve found that the reason I sometimes miss getting good photos or photos that I like is because I talk myself out of it. I think of possible reasons that it won’t work or that the person will say no to my request. In all reality, I haven’t been turned down very often, especially when I’ve stopped to meet and talk to the person first.

Leave a Reply

