The cars

By gregebersole

December 30, 2015

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Another post in my series from my recent Cuba trip. The cars in Havana are amazing. I really enjoyed seeing the different models and the classics, with the occasional antique, as in the photo. My friend, Larry, told me that this is a 4 door Model A Ford. They were made from 1928 to 1931. Many of the classics have been converted to diesel and most are continually worked on to keep them running. Many are used as taxis. I rode in several along with, usually, a carload of people. The driver goes to a certain area and passengers are dropped off in order of their destination. This is a cheaper way to travel than by just hailing a cab on the street and riding alone. I saw and photographed many cars in their 40’s, but the majority were Chevys, Fords, Pontiacs and Plymouths in their 50’s. I talked to a lot of the owners and they are very proud of their cars. Many will give you an hour’s ride around the city, hitting all the tourist destinations, for around 25 to 35 CUC. That’s roughly $25 or more. If you have 4 people, you can split the cost. These classic cars would sell for a small fortune in the US. But, it’s part of the charm of Cuba, and especially Havana. In the evenings, along the Malecón, I loved to watch the old cars passing by. I felt transported back in time. You didn’t feel like you were in the modern world. I loved it!

Leave a Reply

